Zen and the Arts of String

I’m the kind of person that always has a piece of string in her pocket…just in case. You never know when a bit of calm might be desperately needed.

Crewel Embroidery. Wool on linen tea-towel. Renata Bursten.

That’s actually not a flippant title. I really did find my zen (or mindfulness or peace if you prefer) through string. And now playing with string is pretty much the organizing principal of my life. It’s a large part of what makes my life worth living.

Well that and teaching my beloved Arts Of String to anyone who wants to learn. I will be sharing my thoughts, tips, and techniques for helping unsure beginners discover their Inner Spirits of String in this blog too. And yes, all of those caps were necessary!

I am also looking forward to sharing my musings on my own string things, my weaving, needlework, spinning, crochet, kumihimo, lace-making, and whatever else captures my fancy. I expect there will be posts on the rest of my preoccupations as well.

So welcome to my blog, and I hope to get to know you!

Lots of love,

Baba StringThings (aka Renata from Winnipeg)

01446e0d1751f98336985a6afe2250e01f24b6e465_00001
Monsieur Gastropod Wishes You A Good Day. by Renata Bursten, 2015

Author: Baba StringThings

I am a middle-aged mother of three grown-up sons, a thrifty, creative, and dedicated born-again spinster, and I have a serious string addiction. I teach crochet, hand-embroidery, weaving, spinning, kumihimo, darning, mending, and how to upcycle clothing. When I'm not doing that I pretty much play with string. All. The. Time. And I have an unholy love of Pinterest.

Did you like a post? Or not? Either way, please comment!

