Paper Embroidery

Botanical Paper Embroidery. Watercolour and Embroidery, Renata Bursten, 09/16

Have you ever tried embroidering on paper? It’s fun but a bit picky. Once a hole is in the paper there is no going back.

This week I did a little embroidery on watercolour paper. Turns out that it is, hands down, the easiest paper to embroider on that I have ever tried. I used an awl to punch the holes (after placing the paper on a piece of leather) and used only a variety of outline stitches. I think it is simple but effective.

It’s a long time since I hauled out the watercolours but I think it’s not too bad.

Watercolour and Embroidery, Renata Bursten, 09/16
Framed Botanical Paper Embroidery. Renata Bursten, 09/16
Watercolour and Embroidery, Renata Bursten, 09/16
Botanical Paper Embroidery. Watercolour and Embroidery, Renata Bursten, 09/16

I have done a few other pieces of paper embroidery, the first just on a photo illustration…

'Sunrise' Paper Embroidery, Renata Bursten, 2015.
‘Sunrise’ Paper Embroidery, Renata Bursten, 2015.

And the second is a a pencil crayon and paper embroidery piece. It’s a sketch from a tarot card The Sun. Sorry, I can’t remember the name of the deck right now, but it’s a beautiful deck.

Tarot Sun. Renata Bursten, Pencil Crayon and paper embroidery, 2015.
Tarot Sun. Renata Bursten, Pencil Crayon and paper embroidery, 2015.

Now that I think of it, I think paper embroidery might be a nice intro to embroidery craft. Especially on good thick paper… Something to keep in mind!

Be well darlings,

Baba StringThings

Author: Baba StringThings

I am a middle-aged mother of three grown-up sons, a thrifty, creative, and dedicated born-again spinster, and I have a serious string addiction. I teach crochet, hand-embroidery, weaving, spinning, kumihimo, darning, mending, and how to upcycle clothing. When I'm not doing that I pretty much play with string. All. The. Time. And I have an unholy love of Pinterest.

4 thoughts on “Paper Embroidery”

Did you like a post? Or not? Either way, please comment!

