Baba StringThings’s Round-Up of All Things String.

Renata's Depression Lace. 10/2016.

Greetings my fellow String Sistren and Brethren, I have missed you all!

This has been a really busy few weeks for me. I have been working on finishing a commissioned crochet peacock feather blanket, my depression lace is looking better and better, and I have bought a brand new lace weight Turkish spindle and some beautiful fibre. I seem to be spinning all of the time now.

Teaching

My teaching has been chugging along nicely. I have many new crocheters, lots of new kumihimo braiders, and a few people interested in trying embroidery for the first time. Exciting!

Fibre Festival!

Also, there have been some wonderful string events here in Winnipeg. The Manitoba Fibre Festival was amazing as usual; it’s a real gathering of the tribe. I bought two cakes of hand-dyed gradient yarn for a new shawl from Hilori’s Magical Yarnorium As well as all of the fibre I am spinning right now) a local dyer and friend and my lovely little Turkish spindle from a local spindle maker, Natural Knot Wood Designs.

Stitching and Bitching

My beloved Stitch’n’bitch group is in some disarray, people coming and (sadly) going and our regular meeting place, The Neighbourhood Cafe and Bookstore, is temporarily closed. So, to supplement our less frequently meetings, I have been looking around for another group (or two) to fill the hole in my string-loving heart.

It turns out that there is an interesting service online called ‘Meetup’ that helps people with congruent interests meet up with each other, face to face. So far I have found four local groups, The Sisters of Yarnarchy, The Skein Queens, Knit, Sip, Repeat, and one other (with a less memorable name). I really enjoyed meeting with the Skein Queens but they only meet once a month and I need more! So I am going to give the others a try too.

Vikings Ahoy!

I met up with a Viking reenactment group at the fibre festival and got a quick rundown on naalbinding and tablet weaving. I am really excited about trying tablet weaving, so that’s the next craft on my to-do list.

So here are some pictures of what I have been doing.

Crochet Peacock Feathers, Renata Bursten, 10/2016.
Crochet Peacock Feathers for a Peacock Feather Blanket on commission. 40 down, 61 to go! Renata Bursten, 10/2016.
Spinning singles on my new tiny Turkish spindle. Renata Bursten. 10/2016.
Spinning singles on my new tiny Turkish spindle. Renata Bursten. 10/2016.
Fibre, singles ,and plied yarn, all spun on my new tiny Turkish spindle. Renata Bursten. 10/2016.
Fibre, singles, and plied yarn, all spun on my new tiny Turkish spindle. Renata Bursten. 10/2016.
Depression Lace. Cotton Floss on Cotton Gingham. Renata Bursten. 10/2016.
Depression Lace. Cotton Floss on Gingham. Renata Bursten. 10/2016.
01424947c55e3cf3615f6a12b4294a5ed2492a1ce3.jpg
I taught my buddy Miss.J how to make Depression Lace. She’s a natural!
My new Turkish Spindle
My new Zebrawood and Maple Turkish Spindle from Natural Knot Wood Designs.
yarn from Hilori's Magical Yarnorium
The yarn from Hilori’s Magical Yarnorium and the beads I bought at the festival for a new shawl…once I find the PERFECT pattern!
Fibre from Hilori's Magical Yarnorium and a stone spindle.
Fibre from Hilori’s Magical Yarnorium and a stone spindle.

And here are a few pics from the fibre festival…

 

 

I will try not to take so long to post next time! And I am sending all of my love to all of you,

Baba StringThings ❤

Author: Baba StringThings

I am a middle-aged mother of three grown-up sons, a thrifty, creative, and dedicated born-again spinster, and I have a serious string addiction. I teach crochet, hand-embroidery, weaving, spinning, kumihimo, darning, mending, and how to upcycle clothing. When I'm not doing that I pretty much play with string. All. The. Time. And I have an unholy love of Pinterest.

2 thoughts on “Baba StringThings’s Round-Up of All Things String.”

  1. Thanks for sharing photos from the fibre festival. I hear you about finding groups of other fibre lovers to meet with. Now that I live in Toronto I have to find some groups myself. Your depression lace is looking lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I encourage you to find some stitch’n’bitch groups, fibre people are the best! Thank you for your kind words on the depression lace 🙂 Those are pockets for a new pink gingham apron in progress. I think one can always use a new apron! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Did you like a post? Or not? Either way, please comment!

